h1

Zumo de naranja

septiembre 4, 2007

El otro día escuché este tema de Edwyn Collins y, de repente, me sentí como hace diez años. Con ese fondo soulero, olvídense ustedes de drogaína.

I’ve never known a girl like you before
Now just like in a song from days of yore
Here you come a knockin’, knockin’ at my door
And I’ve never met a girl like you before
You give me just a taste so I want more and more
Now my hands are bleeding and my knees are raw
Now you’ve got me crawlin’, crawlin’ on the floor
And I’ve never met a girl like you before
You’ve made me acknowledge the devil in me
I hope to God I’m talkin’ metaphorically
Hope that I’m talkin’ allegorically
Know that I’m talkin’ about the way I feel
And I’ve never known a girl like you before
Never, never, never, never
Never known a girl like you before
This old town’s changed so much
Don’t feel like I belong
Too many protest singers
Not enough protest songs
And now you’ve come along
Yes you’ve come along
And I’ve never met a girl like you before

Desde luego, Orange Juice era una de esas bandas que luego los modernillos reivindicaron con posterioridad. Es lo normal cuando lo actual suele ser bazofia en su gran mayoría.

It may be my imagination
And of course I’m prone to exaggeration
But in the moth eaten gloom of my shabby room I saw the strangest manifestation
One possible explaination is that it was merely a trick of the light
But that’s little consolation
‘Cause it’s gotten so that I can’t sleep at night!!

What Presence?!

Steppin’ out ‘neath a harvest moon, steppin’ out to the strains of this self-same tune and it’s screaming in my ears

Responder

